There & Back

It’s been a bit more than 6 years since I packed up my car and made the drive from Boston out to Los Angeles, and it’s been a blur.  I came out here with a background in music & technology, and a desire to apply my talents towards developing video games.  I had no idea what I was getting myself into…

I’ve seen and done a lot of crazy stuff during my career.   I’ve done audio for an entire DS game (including learning the tool chain) start to finish in a single week.  I’ve traveled to Betonville, Arkansas, walked into Walmart HQ, and sat quietly as their salespeople suggested ways that I could “tone it down” in order to produce a game that was more in line with their family-friendly image.  I’ve sat in a conference room and watched Mix Master Mike enjoy a game that I’ve poured my heart and soul into creating.  Hell, I’ve even worked on a Napoleon Dynamite game – 5 years after the movie was released.

I’ve had a great time, and worked with some really incredible people.  I’ve learned a lot, and grown as a creator and collaborator.  And I’ve been incredibly lucky to experience a decent amount of success in a relatively short amount of time.  But somewhere along the way, I lost sight of a fundamental truth: My real passion lies at the intersection of audio & technology, and video games are just one outlet for that.

Recently, my employer decided that they were not nearly as interested in this stuff as I am, and I’ve made the transition to working independently.  (I have a lot to say – both good and bad – about working for Activision, but that will have to wait for another time…).  Anyone that’s worked on a great dev team knows that it’s like having a second family, and saying goodbye is not easy.  But the chance to get back to my roots is really exciting, and I’ve got some incredible opportunities in front of me.

I see this blog as a way to reconnect with my core interests in music technology, and share the most interesting stuff with you.  I’ve got projects and prototypes that I want to show you, and I’m eager to cast a spotlight on some of the amazing work of others.  I’ve also got some thoughts on the games industry, particularly when it comes to the current state of music gaming and big budget development.  You can expect a hodgepodge of those types of posts… and I’ll try my best to keep it interesting and entertaining.

So, welcome!  Thanks for joining me and I hope you’ll stick around.  Subscribe to my blog (on the right) or follow me on Twitter to keep up to date with my latest posts.  Leave me a comment and let me know that you’re out there.

Let’s do this.

/dan

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

